5 Indian Women Boxers Who Are World Boxing Champion

It was in 1920 when India emerged in amateur boxing . India made its mark in Asia in the 1950s and 60s.

Post India’s independence from the British rule, the Indian Amateur Boxing Federation was formed in 1949. After independence, Boxing slowly evolved in India over the next few decades. Boxing championships in India first-ever took place at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai in 1950.

At international level, India participates in four major events in amateur boxing – the Olympics, the World Championships, the Asian Games and Commonwealth Games.

The first official World Boxing Championships, under the ambit of the International Boxing Federation (AIBA), was organized in 1974. The first AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships was held in 2001.

Indian boxing enjoys a rich legacy at the Women’s World Boxing Championships, courtesy Mary Kom, who has won a record six gold medals in the event. With ten gold, eight silver and 19 bronze medals, India is the third-most successful nation at the women’s boxing championships after Russia and China.

In this article, we bring you list of 5 Indian Women Boxers Who Are World Boxing Champion. The order is Chronicle and contains brief info about the boxers

1. MC Mary Kom

MC Mary Kom

MC Mary Kom – the most successful boxer at the Women’s World Boxing Championships – was also the first Indian boxer to win a medal at the global event with a silver in the light flyweight (48kg) category at the inaugural edition. MC Mary Kom won Women Wolrd Boxing Championship in 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2018. Mary Kom has also been former Member of Rajya Sabha. Mother of three Mary Kom was born on 24 Nov 1982.

2. Jenny RL

Jenny RL

Jenny RL hails from Mizoram. Jenny is an Indian amateur boxer competing in 63 kg category. In 2006, Jenny won Gold Medal (Light welterweight category) in Women’s World Amateur Boxing Championship held in New Delhi.

3. Sarita Devi

Sarita Devi

Laishram Sarita Devi hails from Manipur. Born on 01 Mar 1982, Sarita won Women World Championship in 2006 at New Delhi in Light Bantamweight category. In 2009, Sarita was awarded Arjuna Award by the Indian government for her achievements.

4. Lekha KC

Lekha KC

Lekha KC represented India in Women’s Amateur boxing at 75kg category and won Gold medal in 2006 Women’s World Amateur Boxing Championship held in New Delhi. Born on 22 Apr 1981, Lekha hails from Kannur distt in Kerela. Lekhha KC was awarded Dhyan Chand award in 2021 for life time achievement in the year 2021.

5. Nikhat Zareen

Nikhat Zareen became the fifth Indian boxer to win Gold At Women World Boxing Championship. Zareen defeated Thailand’s Jitpong Jutamas in flyweight (52kg category) scoring 5-0 in Istanbul, Turkey on 19 May 22. Nikhat joined elite club pf Mary Kom, Sarita Devi, Jenny RL and Lekha KC to win a gold at World Boxing Championship.

Leave a Reply